Here’s What Will Truly Change Higher Education: Online Degrees That Are Seen as Official

Posted: March 9, 2015 in Moodle MOOC posts

An article by Kevin Carey in the NYT addressing the MOOCs and some expectations (in the beginning) that they would revolutionize Higher Education, as an eventual replacement and/or threat. And the acknowledgement that:

«Free online courses won’t revolutionize education until there is a parallel system of free or low-fee credentials, not controlled by traditional colleges, that leads to jobs.»

From my point of view I think that MOOCs are an opportunity to learn in a free way, engaging in themes that probably would never give origin to any formal enrolment in HE for job purposes, rather intrinsic motivation to learn for pleasure.

I believe that most people don’t engage in MOOCs for any sort of certification and even if some institutions are working on Badge Systems, I don’t particularly aim at badges, when I enroll. I’m much more interested in gathering an eportfolio with evidences of my participation in the different MOOCs for my own use and memory.

So I think that MOOCs are an excellent open access to good courses, resources, discussions, an opportunity for peer sharing and interaction with other peers’ viewpoints.

I believe in intrinsic motivation and less in extrinsic/carrot stimulus.

Leave a Reply

